The Rock
LRCent public relations online bids Contact Us municipal code City Documents LRTV
The City of Little Rock City Boards & Commissions
Click to print this page

Inclusiveness on Boards and Commissions

It is the goal of the City of Little Rock, Arkansas, that the Mayor, with confirmation by the City Board of Directors, shall make diligent efforts to appoint citizens of Little Rock to City Boards and Commissions so these bodies meet the goal of inclusiveness by reflecting the diversity of our City, recognizing that this goal may be impacted by Board and Commission positions that are designated by professions, organizations or by Ward representation.

Applications for all City's Boards and Commissions can now be submitted at any time, whether or not there are current vacancies.  All applications will be kept on file for two (2) years and in the event a vacancy occurs on the Board or Commission in which you applied, your application will be forwarded to the Little Rock City Board of Directors for consideration.  

If you are interested in volunteering to serve on any of the City's Boards and Commissions, applications can be submitted in a variety of ways:

  1. By filling out the online application
  2. By mail to the Little Rock City Clerk's Office, 500 West Markham Street, Room 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
  3. By e-mail to
  4. By fax to (501) 371-4857

If you would like to receive an electronic copy of the next Board and Commission Vacancy Announcement, please e-mail the City Clerk's Office at to be included on our distribution list.

Complete an Application Form:

Thank you for your interest in serving on one of the City’s various Boards and Commissions.

Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission

The Little Rock Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission is committed to collaborating with individuals and organizations in an effort to realize goals for equity in all facets of our community. The success of the Commission is directly reliant upon the involvement of the community as a whole. The Commission’s mission is to ensure that all the residents of the City and all persons subject to its jurisdiction enjoy equal freedom to pursue their aspirations without discrimination because of race, ethnicity, color or national origin.

For More Information

Ericka Benedicto, Diversity Program Manager
Racial & Cultural Diversity Commission
500 West Markham Street, Room 220W
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 244-5483

Ordinance No. 16,722 (August 2, 1991);  Ordinance No. 17,665 (January 20, 1998);
Ordinance No. 17,926 (January 19, 1999);  Ordinance No. 18,754 (October 1, 2002); Ordinance No. 20,746
Three (3) years
Thirteen (13)
To advise and assist the city in combating racism through education, mediation and legislation; to promote equal opportunity and full exercise of civil rights for all person without discrimination because of race, ethnicity, color or national origin; to engage in such activities as may be referred to the Commission by the Board of Directors; and to prepare an annual report of the Commission's activities.
Members of this Commission are appointed by the Little Rock Board of Directors, which consists of the following:

One (1) Ward 1 Representative
One (1) Ward 2 Representative
One (1) Ward 3 Representative
One (1) Ward 4 Representative
One (1) Ward 5 Representative
One (1) Ward 6 Representative
One (1) Ward 7 Representative
Five (5) At-Large Representatives
Second Thursday of each Month
Willie L. Hinton Neighborhood Resource Center
3805 West 12th Street
11:30 AM

Current Members

Carlos Albert
(Ward 6)
3814 Tudor Drive
Little Rock, AR 72204
(501) 247-6074
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

April Sherrill Buirse
7316 Royal Oaks Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
(501) 940-5995
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Phylesia Davis
121 Whispering Oak Trail
(501) 786-3297
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Nicole Freeman
(Ward 2)
1724 South Buchanan Street
Little Rock, AR 72204
(501) 681-4683
Term Expires: 3-31-2017
Paul Henry
(Ward 3)
6504 Pleasant Place
Little Rock, AR  72205
(501) 663-6615
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Britt Johnson
(Ward 5)
13921 Saint Michael Drive
Little Rock, AR 72211
(501) 551-9511
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Tabitha Lee
(Ward 1)
415 West 18th Street, #12
Little Rock, AR  72206
(870) 538-8620
Term Expires:  3-31-2018

Nichetra MaGee
1212 Twin Lakes Drive
Little Rock, AR 72202
(501) 410-2700
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Reginald Merritt
(Little Rock School Board Representative)
34 Sugarloaf Loop
Maumelle, AR 72113
Term Expires: 3-31-2019

Dale Pekar
1010 Rock Street
Little Rock, AR 72202
(501) 374-3174
Term Expires: 3-31-2017

Travis Rowan
11900 Pleasant Ridge Road, Apartment 1521
Little Rock, AR 72223
(501) 517-5757
Term Expires: 3-31-2018

Cynthia Taylor
(Ward 7)
40 Eagles Nest Court
Little Rock, AR 72201
Term Expires: 3-31-2016
William Torrence
(Ward 4)
11 Jack Nicklaus Cove
Little Rock, AR  72210
(501) 260-3432
Term Expires:  3-31-2017

City Director Ken Richardson
(Board of Directors Liaison)
Little Rock City Hall
500 West Markham Street, Room 203
Little Rock, AR  72201
(501) 371-4510
Term Expires:  12-31-2016

The City of Little Rock The City of Little Rock

Click For More