The Rock
LRCent public relations online bids Contact Us municipal code City Documents LRTV
The City of Little Rock City Manager
Click to print this page

« Back to Media Releases

Seal of Little Rock

City of Little Rock Public Relations
Office (501) 371-4421

Media Releases

Contact(s):Lynn Mittelstaedt Warren

Tuesday, October 7, 2008


(Tuesday, October 7, 2008) – The Arkansas River Trail, Hillcrest Hall, and the Westlake Corporate Park are the three winners of the 2008 City Beautiful Commission Landscape Awards. The winners were recognized at the Little Rock City Board of Directors meeting on Tuesday, October 7.

Now in their 29th year, the Landscape Awards recognize commercial, institutional, multi-family or subdivision development projects within Little Rock. According to Landscape Awards Chair, Jennie Cole, “Nominated landscape developments must be in place one year and have demonstrated excellent design, implementation and continual maintenance including voluntarily upgrades or enhancements that have gone beyond the city requirements.”

The Arkansas River Trail award was accepted by representatives of Little Rock Parks and Recreation. The Greater Little Rock Council of Garden Clubs was recognized for their work at Hillcrest Hall. Irwin-Saviers-Ballard is the property manager for Westlake Corporate Park.

Prior to the City Board meeting, the Commission honored the recipients at a reception in the City Hall rotunda. Tipton & Hurst and Catering to You were sponsors of the reception.

Throughout the year, individuals may submit nominations to the City Beautiful Commission. The Commission reviews nominations and selects the winners. Among the factors considered in judging are: site maintenance must be above average with year-round interest; the project must display sensitive treatment of site grading and circulation design; and the landscape design must demonstrate an appropriate use of materials, sensitivity to adjacent sites and a visual/physical connection to the overall setting and environment.

Last year’s recipients were Heifer International, the Woodlands Edge subdivision of Little Rock, and Historic Arkansas Museum. In 2006, the honorees were Little Rock Central High School, the Clinton Presidential Center and Park, and St. Vincent Health System.

The Mission of the Little Rock City Beautiful Commission is to enhance Little Rock’s appearance and quality of life by promoting and providing supervision of its natural resources and surroundings.

The members of the City Beautiful Commission are Jennie Cole, Steve Homeyer (vice chair), Ben Jackson, Walter Jennings, Lee Anne Overall, Debra Redding, Kay Tatum, Lynn Mittelstaedt Warren (chair), and Bill Wiedower. City Director B J Wyrick is an ex-officio liaison to the Commission.

For more information on the commission, visit

-- 30 –

The City of Little Rock The City of Little Rock

Click For More