The Rock
LRCent public relations online bids Contact Us municipal code City Documents LRTV
The City of Little Rock City Manager
Click to print this page

« Back to Media Releases

Seal of Little Rock

City of Little Rock Public Relations
Office (501) 371-4421

Media Releases

Contact(s):Meg Matthews

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

LR CENT Committee Appointed

Contact Information:
Meg Matthews
Public Relations Manager
(501) 371-4421 – office
(501) 804-4822 – cell

Press Release

(February 8, 2012 – Little Rock)

A diverse and engaged cache of Little Rock residents have been appointed to the new Little Rock Citizen’s Evaluation of New Tax Committee (LR CENT). The City of Little Rock Mayor and Board of Directors last night appointed the names of the citizens that will serve as an evaluation committee which will monitor the spending of the additional revenue that will come as a result of the recently enacted one cent sales tax increase.

“The last time Little Rock created an oversight committee was in 2004. The 11-member Project Progress Committee monitored progress of the $69 million bond program,” said City Manger Bruce Moore. “The LR CENT Committee will serve in a similar capacity to provide the utmost transparency for our residents and they represent every ward in the City.”

The Committee members are:
• Dr. Sybil Jordan Hampton Co-Chair
• Gary Smith Co-Chair
• Chrystal Gray Ward 1
• Dr. Anika Whitfield Ward 2
• Steve Strickland Ward 3
• Kyle Demilt Ward 4
• Peter McKinney O’Conor Ward 5
• Masheerah Tharpe Ward 6
• Don Shellabarger Ward 7
• Charles Blake At-Large
• Khayyam Eddings At-Large
• Troy Laha At-Large

“We have a unique opportunity before us,” said Mayor Mark Stodola. “The LR CENT Committee will help us pave a new direction for the City of Little Rock. We are committed to accountability and this committee will be an important component in maintaining the trust voters put in us.”

The LR CENT Committee members will serve four year terms. City of Little Rock staff will follow up to coordinate their first meeting.

The City of Little Rock The City of Little Rock

Click For More