The Rock
LRCent public relations online bids Contact Us municipal code City Documents LRTV
The City of Little Rock Mayor's Office
Click to print this page

Mayor's Commissions & Task Forces

Mayor’s Youth Council

The Mayor’s Youth Council is composed of high school sophomores, juniors and seniors who live in Little Rock and provide public service by volunteering for events held throughout the city. Each year, these students learn about various aspects of our community and provide critical volunteer support for a wide range of community events throughout Little Rock. The Mayor’s Youth Council contributes more than 500 hours of volunteer service to the city on an annual basis. Typical volunteer events include the Little Rock Marathon, the Race for the Cure, Wildwood Harvest Festival, the Main Street Food Truck Festival, the Arkansas Cornbread Festival and the Just Communities of Arkansas Walk for CommUNITY.


Educating our young people is also a critical component of the Mayor’s Youth Council. Past classes have focused on sustainability and how to make our city more environmentally friendly. Members also learn about all of the City’s departments and responsibilities.


In the spring semester each year, a smaller number of the students in the Mayor’s Youth Council also have an opportunity to take part in a six-month Youth Leadership Program, which develops a student’s understanding of their community and builds their leadership capacity. Students participate in sessions on team-building, politics and government, economic development, homelessness, public safety and the arts. At the conclusion of the session, the students typically travel to one of Little Rock’s international sister cities to learn more about the world we live in. The international travel is typically scheduled for a week to 10 days in the summer.


To sign up for the Mayor’s Youth Council, please fill out the form at the link below.

MYC Information Sheet - 2016-2017.pdf

MYC Registration Form 2016-2017.docx

For more information, contact Bryan Griffiith at 501-371-6888 or Phyllis Dickerson at 501-379-1555.

Click below for information on other commissions:  

Little Rock Sustainability Commission

Bicycle Friendly Community Committee

Sister Cities Commission

Mayor's Tourism Committee 






















The City of Little Rock The City of Little Rock

Click For More